July: Burnt Lake Trail to Burnt Lake

DSC_2154

I’ve posted about Burnt Lake Trail before. Only, I had forgotten.

I’ve been really focused on my job these days, and, as a result, have not gone on many hikes yet this year. I was aiming to choose a hike I’d never done before, and one near Mt Hood, because this is the best time to access high-elevation trailheads that might be covered in snow most other months of the year.

So, I thought, “Aha! Burnt Lake sounds great! Definitely haven’t done this one before!” And, on Wednesday 16 July 2014, as soon as I reached the access road, I began to sense very strongly the familiarity of the region and that sneaking feeling that I had hiked this trail before.

As soon as I reached the trailhead, it was obvious this trail was not new to me. However, it sounded great to do again, and I kept to my conviction of doing this hike.

DSC_2127

It’s a beautiful trail, with a shady forest the whole way along. Great for a hot day (which it was). The only disappointment was the bugs buzzing around.

An excellent feature was the wildflowers (always a focus for me, I know).

DSC_2130

DSC_2138

DSC_2139

DSC_2179

Burnt Lake is a small, peaceful lake (on a weekday). There were no ducks.

DSC_2166

It’s a very clear lake, with fish and crawdads (I think that’s who’s in the second photo here).

DSC_2151

DSC_2153

The sky was very blue today.

DSC_2156

More wildlife:

DSC_2181

A nice view of Mt. Hood:

DSC_2178

My favorite fern, Maidenhair fern.

DSC_2185

Devil’s club has pokey thorns all over. Be careful!

DSC_2189

Forest shots:

DSC_2186

DSC_2188

DSC_2222

An old snag, with a new sapling growing inside.

DSC_2208

I believe this is Lost Creek Falls, yet another majestically beautiful waterfall in the Pacific Northwest. Oh, how they capture my heart.

DSC_2193

DSC_2195

DSC_2197

Two things to beware of for this hike: (1.) the access road has car-eating potholes; (2.) there are multiple, fairly easy, stream crossings. I did not get my feet wet.

DSC_2168

DSC_2229

Finally, I went on a decently-sized hike this summer. I’m so happy to be able to go on one hike. It inspired me to plan for another hike shortly after! Post and pictures soon to come!

Leave a Reply

