Mid-January at the Rhododendron Garden

DSC_1208

This raptor was sitting on the puniest tree.

DSC_1209

And then I accidentally scared him! Too much staring, I guess.

DSC_1211

A while back, I took a nice, long walk at the Crystal Springs Rhododendron Gardens. It’s so close to where I live, it’s my favorite place to go.

DSC_1212

I couldn’t believe that there were flowers. This was in January, mid-January. In Michigan, everything would be brown and barren, and probably covered in snow. On the one hand, it’s refreshing to see flowers; on the other hand, it’s discombobulating. I actually had a nightmare where I saw flowers in the winter and I was confused about what season it was!

DSC_1215

See? Even the Rhododendrons are blooming.

DSC_1222

The rest of this post will be pictures of ducks. Above are some wood ducks hobbling along.

DSC_1225“Give me some snacks?”

The Canada goose posed quite nicely for me.

DSC_1226

This Greater Scaup is showing his beautiful colors.

DSC_1228

An American Wigeon squeaks like a dog’s squeaky toy.

DSC_1234

Do you see the ripples emanating from Mr. Duck? Well, it is because this Gadwall is meticulously kicking the underwater area to bring up tasty morsels of food. It’s quite cute to see.

DSC_1243

Hello, fuzzy squirrel.

DSC_1248

Wow, look at the sky. Wait, shouldn’t it be raining?

DSC_1249

Some gorgeous trees.

DSC_1250

Flowers on the trees, but the bathrooms are closed.

DSC_1252

And here is probably a California Gull (correct me if I’m wrong). Alongside a cormorant. I don’t know if you can zoom in, but you might be able to see the bright green of the cormorant’s eye. Spectacular!

DSC_1255

One crazy coot. Check.

DSC_1258

DSC_1263

A large flock of waterfowl.

DSC_1274

I came across a busy Spotted Towhee. He didn’t want to pose for me, which is quite understandable.

DSC_1277

He finally posed for me, but I didn’t get the camera in focus! What a pretty bird.

DSC_1278

As the sun was setting, the squirrels scuttled around, and I made my way back home.

Leave a Reply

