Coeur d’Alene, Idaho

DSC_0306

On the way to Glacier National Park (4 Sept. 2013), I stayed the night in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. It’s supposed to be a resort town. It reminded me a lot of Petoskey, MI, where my grandparents live. The town is pleasant, and friendly. And the lake is beautiful. There were restaurant options for vegans–not much for vegan, gluten-free. And the place I stayed at (The Flamingo Motel) was bike-friendly: many of the guests had their bikes locked up to their front porches. I am definitely returning to Coeur d’Alene.

DSC_0307

There were plane tours, which isn’t really appealing to me, but it was fun to watch the plane take off. I was attracted to the dock and its small buildings.

DSC_0308

I think, as a tourist, I was supposed to like this statue. And, well, I did. A moose and a mouse, hehe.

DSC_0310

That lone tree on the right-hand shore is surviving apart from the others. And look at those clouds. Wow.

DSC_0311

I made a quick trip to the Tubbs Hill Park–the Mt Tabor of Coeur d’Alene–prior to breakfast and the second half of the drive from Portland to Glacier. It was humid…really, really humid. But it was fun and a nice break from driving, especially to be able to bike ride there from downtown.

DSC_0314

I’m a fan of bridges. This Tubbs Hill bridge was not only pretty, but a bit bouncy as well.

DSC_0315

Byebye Coeur d’Alene.

Leave a Reply

