Hand Lake

Hand Lake - tree with meadow and flowers

Hand Lake and Mt Washington – tree with meadow and flowers

When it was clear that the Cascade Pass Trail in the North Cascades (Washington) was closed, I opted for a trip near Sisters, Ore.

I visited Hand Lake on the first day. Here is a Google Maps link to its location. I highly recommend it, especially if you’re a fan of ducks. I believe I saw Barrow’s Goldeneyes. I don’t have very strong binoculars, but everything tells me that’s who I saw! What delightful ducks. And what a peaceful alpine meadow.

Afterward, I spent the night at Scott Lake Campground a couple miles down the road.

Sunset near Hand Lake

Sunset near Hand Lake

Rocks and flowers

Rocks and flowers

Mountains near Hand Lake

Mountains near Hand Lake

Grasses and a small bird

Grasses and a small bird

Trail sign

Trail sign

Leave a Reply

